## **AAINA**

### **The Dramatics Society**

#### Introduction:

Aaina, as the name suggests, stands for "Mirror" which reflects the portrait of all and is the dramatics society of Swami Shraddhanand college, Delhi University.

It is one of the oldest cultural societies of the college. It was established in 2008. The society encourages dramatic presentations by students in areas like skits, mimes, plays (street as well as stage), short films etc. The society also hosts the Annual collegiate Drama competitions across the Delhi theatre circuit (DTC).

Aaina aims to raise voice against the issues within the society and with art as a tool, it focuses on spreading awareness amongst the people of the society by acknowledging it's unheard and unseen aspects.

### Agendas:

- The society would be working over its different projects in online and offline mode through short films and plays.
- Theatre workshops would be conducted to explore the possibilities for interdisciplinary link between different forms of performing arts through virtual meetings.
- Eminent theatre personalities would be invited to give lectures on the new trends in theatre on virtual platforms.

#### Honours in the recent years:

- First position in Nukkad natak pratiyogita held by Zakir Hussain college, Delhi university.
  (2018)
- 2. Second position in intercollege street play festival Samavesh, organized by FIIB college. (2018)
- 3. First position in intercollege street play event organized by Bhagini Nivedita College. (2018)
- 4. Nominated for Delhi College Awards (DCA) organized by The Education Tree. (2018)
- 5. Selected for Thomso'19 organized by IIT ROORKEE under street play category (2019).
- 6. Second position in street play competition conducted by BML Munjal University (2019).
- 7. Performed our production at multiple public places under Manthan- The international street play festival, Adakari, and many more.
- 8. Participated in 90+ intercollegiate street play festivals including IIT Delhi, IIT Bombay and IIT Kanpur in Rendezvous, Mood indigo, Antaragini etc.

### Individual honors won by our team members :

- 1) Shrey kaushik (Batch 2017-19) has got special mention under Theatre Yuva, organized by theatre kingdom. (2018)
  - 2) Nikhil Bansal (Batch: 2018-21)
    - Bagged 3rd position as a Special Winner in a monologue Competition organized by theatre kingdom.
    - Bagged 2nd position in one minute long breathless monologue competition held by Manav Rachna Educational Institute.
    - Got a special mention and featured in KIET College Monologue Competition.
    - Bagged 3rd position in AKGIT College Monologue Competition.
    - Got special mention as instrumentalist under talent T- cube by theatre kingdom.
  - 3) Rudrapriya Sharma (Batch: 2019-21)
    - Secured 1st position in SSRGC, Punjab University.
    - Secured 2nd position in Amity University.
    - Won Consolation Prize in a monologue competition organized by Theatre kingdom.
- 4) Our members Anushka Tripathi (2019-22) and Sahil Ansari (Batch 2018-21) got tagged special as actors under talent T-cube by the theatre kingdom

# **Gallery:**





Shrey Kaushik President (2018-19)

Varun Dhiman President (2019-20)

Vardan Bhutani President (2020-21)



Shivam Gaur President (2021-22)

































